What to bring to an outdoor music festival with twin toddlers:

A week before the family friendly music festival, you have purchased the veggie tray, humus, snap peas and little crackers. You have juice boxes, chips, glow in the dark bracelets and bubbles for the three year old twins.

If your like me, you’ve invited the family and friends on both sides and everyone has confirmed they are coming to the festivities. Our town was having a great big Canada Day celebration with bands, face painting, bouncing castle, petting zoo, tents, beer gardens for the family and a ton of food trucks. The location was on a grassy knoll near a lake. This recipe should make for the most perfect day when you have littles. I wasn’t in charge of cooking, music or cleaning my house- like a normal party. This was my party cheat day.

Okay, let me get down to business.

Don’t forget to pack the following items:

  • Roll of tissue, sometimes outhouses dont have any and I guarantee someone will need to poop
  • Blanket, there’s a chance they may actually want to sit down with you
  • Hats, sun screen, change of pants, shirt, dress, favorite toy (my son can’t leave the house without his fire truck and my daughter without her pink puppy)
  • Your food (examples I pack are mentioned above in detail), drinks, straws, napkins, wet naps
  • Phone, camera, and novelty clothing like a flower lei, mardis gras beads anything new and fun for the twins.

From reading the above a few times, I am confident that’s all you need. Anything extra is a bonus. I’ve seen people bring iPad and little game things, but for me, less is more and I am blessed because my littles like to dance to any music and love to eat.

I usually wear something colourful so it hides the stains from their filthy little paws. Good shoes in case I need to run fast or flip flops, I can kick them off when chasing them down. Which reminds me a good bra because you will be dancing and probably running.

The festival was fun, everyone ate the snack food and we all danced together. Sometimes I need to carry both of them in my arms while dancing but that’s just the way it is when you have two. My favorite part was when grandpa bought them bubblegum ice cream and my son fell and he was so upset so when I picked him up and he put his arms around my neck he rubbed ice cream into my skin, hair and all over my dress. He was so upset and I didn’t care about me or outfit. At the end of the day, that little mans heart was broken and he needed a momma hug. I know I wont get them forever like that, I just suck it up whenever I can. I took a wet nap and cleaned myself up and luckily my colourful dress hid all the other evidence.

Go and have fun, dance, get dirty, over eat, sing loud and try and take a picture.

Leave a comment